The African National Congress Women’s League is the women’s wing of the African National Congress (ANC).

It was founded in 1931 as the Bantu Women’s League, with Charlotte Maxeke as its first president. It was integrated into the ANC during the period from 1943, when women were first admitted as members of the ANC, to 1948, when the ANCWL was officially founded.

It participated with the Federation of South African Women in protests against the apartheid-era government, such as the 1952 Defiance Campaign and the passbook protests of 9 August 1956. In 1956, Lilian Ngoyi became the first elected female member of the ANC National Executive Committee.

Among the activists and politicians who were allied with the ANC during the apartheid years are:

(continue reading)

Pictured (l-r): Charlotte Maxeke, Lilian Ngoyi & Helen Joseph

(Source: )

  1. dynamicafrica reblogged this from unrelentingblackness
  2. rosaflora reblogged this from ethiopienne and added:
    The African National Congress Women’s League is the women’s wing of the African National Congress (ANC). It was founded...
  3. artemariposa reblogged this from ethiopienne
  4. maddogchica reblogged this from wellingtonyoungfeminists
  5. bravepeterbraden reblogged this from wellingtonyoungfeminists
  6. forgetpolitics reblogged this from rachel-duncan